Old, old prototypes [part 2]

Cauldrons, plants, potions, and a big eyed lady protagonist. The more things change, the more things stay the same. Sometimes I wonder if I will keep on attempting to make the same game again and again for the rest of time.

This was the big project I was working on towards the end of uni (It wasn’t a game degree, so I had to make these in my free time). The game is rendering the sprites using 3d shells with a (near) perfect projection. Using the cutout method and a z-buffer to handle the sorting. This eliminates most of the horrible sort-order conflicts of isometric tiling, but I could never get the projection to be quite stable. A slight but somewhat nauseating shake effect would occur every time the character moved.

In the end I did not have the skills to bring the project to a workable state. My colours were muddy, my art lumpy, my coding subpar (or, at least insufficient for the scope I was aiming for). But part of me cannot help but love the strange mess in all its wonky glory.

Leave a comment