Old, old prototypes [part 1]

Last week I was searching my old hard disk for some assets when I stumbled over my Gamedev folder from when I was in university. Seeing how the old drive might not live for much longer, I decided it would be a good time to export some clips and store them in various places on the interwebs. There exists a frightening heap of Game Maker projects which I worked on before these, but the versions of the software that is required to play them no longer works. So those projects might already be lost to time.

Most of my work during uni was isometric, an art-style which I still adore. However, the programming isometric graphics is something I have little love for. It’s one of the reasons almost all of my work for the last few years has featured mostly flat and overhead perspectives. One cannot adequately express in words the sheer fiddliness of isometric tiling when combined with moving objects, fences, and thin walls. But man, it does look gorgeous.

Leave a comment